Home / November 2019 update: Mayoral Forum

November 2019 update: Mayoral Forum

Six new members of the Canterbury Mayoral Forum have been welcomed, following local body elections in October.

  • Craig Mackle (Kaikōura).
  • Marie Black (Hurunui).
  • Dan Gordon (Waimakariri).
  • Neil Brown (Ashburton).
  • Nigel Bowen (Timaru).
  • Jenny Hughey (Environment Canterbury).

These six new members join returning Mayors Sam Broughton, Lianne Dalziel, Graham Smith, Craig Rowley and Gary Kircher.

Pictured: Canterbury Mayoral Forum, 3 Feb 2020 – L to R: Craig Mackle (Kaikōura District), Jenny Hughey (Environment Canterbury), Craig Rowley (Waimate District), Dan Gordon (Waimakariri District), Nigel Bowen (Timaru District – Deputy Chair), Neil Brown (Ashburton District), Gary Kircher (Waitaki District), Sam Broughton (Selwyn District – Chair), Lianne Dalziel (Christchurch City), Graham Smith (Mackenzie District), Marie Black (Hurunui District).

Mayoral Forum highlights

  • Sam Broughton (Selwyn) was elected as the new Chair of the Canterbury Mayoral Forum. Nigel Bowen (Timaru) was elected as Deputy Chair.
  • A draft triennial agreement was approved for ratification by member councils.
  • The Canterbury Mayoral Forum terms of reference and meeting dates for 2020 were also confirmed.
  • Mayors held a round-table discussion on their priorities for the coming local government term, and what they hope to achieve over the next three years as a Mayoral Forum.
  • A process for developing a new regional development strategy was approved, which will focus on sustainable development for the region across the ‘four wellbeings’. This will replace the previous Canterbury Regional Economic Development Strategy 2016–2019.
  • The Forum also received an introductory briefing to the Canterbury Water Management Strategy (CWMS). The CWMS is owned by Canterbury Mayoral Forum, which provides governance oversight of the strategy and its implementation.

Other news