Canterbury Mayors and MPs meet

On Friday 27 November the mayors and MPs of Canterbury got together in Christchurch to share ideas and discuss priorities for the region.

The lunchtime meeting strengthened old relationships and forged new ones as well as reaffirmed the collective desire for all attendees to move in the same direction for the good of Canterbury, its people, economy, wellbeing and environment.

For Canterbury’s four new MPs it was a chance to develop their understanding of the Mayoral Forum and make connections with the mayors across the region. For returning MPs it was an opportunity to build on existing relationships and progress their thoughts about a collective way forward.

Mayor Sam Broughton, the chair of the Canterbury Mayoral Forum said, “We have an opportunity to work together for the benefit of Canterbury. The best outcomes will be found as we listen to one another and engage our leadership, passion and expertise across the region”.

After the meeting Matt Doocey, MP for Waimakariri, commented, “Its important central and local government politicians find common ground to drive Greater Christchurch and Canterbury forward”.

The lunch was part of the Mayoral Forum’s broader engagement plan to advance the interests of Canterbury with parliamentarians.

The Forum intends to hold these meetings twice a year for the remainder of the local government term.

The Canterbury-based MPs at the lunch were:
• Mr Stuart Smith, MP for Kaikōura
• Mr Rino Tirikatene, MP for Te Tai Tonga
• Mr Matt Doocey, MP for Waimakariri
• Dr Tracey McLellan, MP for Banks Peninsula
• Dr Duncan Webb, MP for Christchurch Central
• Ms Poto Williams, MP for Christchurch East
• Ms Sarah Pallett, MP for Ilam
• Hon Dr Megan Woods, MP for Wigram
• Ms Nicola Grigg, MP for Selwyn
• Hon Gerry Brownlee, Canterbury-based List MP
• Ms Toni Severin, Canterbury-based list MP.

Eugenie Sage (List MP), Jacqui Dean (MP for Waitaki) and Jo Luxton (MP for Rangitata) were unfortunately unable to attend, due to prior commitments.

Other news